Album Release – Kyoto Jazz Sextet “Mission”

This looks to be a great new project from Kyoto Jazz Massive co-founder Okino Shuya, called the Kyoto Jazz Sextet. The lineup features Ruike Shimpei on trumpet, Kurihara Takeshi on sax, Hirado Yusuke on keys, Koizumi Yoshihito on bass and Amakura Masanori on drums (with special guest Kikuchi Naruyoshi sitting in as well).

These guys all have their own bands which are among the more popular contemporary groups in Japan, so it was a surprise to  see them all come together. Release gig this coming Saturday at Billboard Live, but I hope they’ll get together for some other shows around town.


Previous articleHristo Vitchev - Mini Interview
Next articleJeff Curry - Mini Interview
Mr. OK Jazz is a 20+ year resident of Japan and spends all his free time wandering the Kanto area looking for jazz cafes, bars, clubs and record stores. For two years he hosted the OK Jazz radio show on InterFM Radio, currently the OK Jazz podcast. You can reach him at *protected email*